John Dawson Thesis Prizes

dawsonUp to two “John Dawson Thesis prizes” will be awarded on a biannual basis for the best nominated PhD thesis in the area of plasma accelerators driven by lasers, electrons or positrons beams. These prizes will be awarded for fundamental (theoretical and/or experimental) and/or for applied aspects.
Each prize winner will receive a medal, 500 Euros and financial support to attend the “Laser and Plasma Accelerators Workshop” where the prize will be awarded. In 2011, the Laser and Plasma Accelerators Workshop will be held in Wuzhen, Zhejiang Province, China from June 20 to June 24.
These prizes are nominated on the basis of recommendation from at least one of the PhD thesis examiners (who should not be the nominated student's supervisor or from the same institution). The letters of recommendation should be written in English, and submitted electronically in pdf-format. In addition the nominated student's supervisor must send a letter containing a short summary of the achievements reported in the nominated thesis together with a list of associated publications and reasons why the thesis is particularly deserving of the appropriate thesis prize.
Eligible candidates for the 2011 edition of the John Dawson Prize are those who have defended their PhD thesis during 2009 or 2010. All nominations should be submitted to the John Dawson Thesis Prize Committee before March 22, 2011 to the email address:
The 2011 John Dawson Thesis Prize Committee members are: C. Joshi (UCLA), W. Leemans (LBNL), V. Malka (LOA), K. Nakajima (KEK), L. Silva (IST), and J. Zhang (SJTU).
Link to 2009 Dawson Prize:
CopyRight 2010-2011 || Laser and Plasma Accelerators Workshop, June 20-24, 2011, Wuzhen, China ||